Fit for the Southern Belle I am Not: Chicken & Waffles at South City Kitchen

Remember the first time your parents came to visit during  freshman year of college?

Remember seeing their smiling faces, and you praising God that they came on a Sunday so that they could take you out to  dinner because the dining halls were closed and you hadn’t eaten since noon?

They had it coming.

Although my freshman days have passed, I still get giddy whenever I go home or whenever my parent’s visit, because that means I am back on my parent’s meal plan, if only for one day.

AMEN.

Which brings me to this past Sunday when my dad came to Atlanta for the weekend.

He told me to pick any restaurant.

That’s a dangerous question to ask a person like me.

I would have been fine with Cracker Barrel, but I decided to try something new and check out  South City Kitchen in Midtown. I had recently read a review of it in a local  magazine and thought it would be the perfect place to take my dad (err…for him to take me). The cuisine is upscale Southern and the magazine raved about their chicken and waffles.

They had me at waffle.

The restaurant’s decor and layout reminded me of travels to Savannah, with a big screened-in porch on the outside and large dining areas inside.

After being seated, we were greeted with a big basket of cornbread muffins and biscuits with sides of whipped butter and apple butter. The apple butter was so good I caught myself eating it with a spoon. For my entrée, I had to try the chicken and waffles. I’m not a big fan of fried chicken, but I threw caution to the wind and decided to order it.

I like to live dangerously.

The chicken was amazing and went perfectly with the malted waffle on the side.

But you know what the best part was?

The pure maple syrup on the side!

Angels eat this syrup.

Straight face.

Yesterday, I received a phone call from my dad asking if I would call South City Kitchen and have them ship a bottle of  syrup to his house.

I guess the apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree.

South City Kitchen

1144 Crescent Ave, Atlanta, Ga 30309 telephone – 404.873.7358

 

Gumbo with Andouille Sausage and Chicken

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

