Banana Bread

I have been craving banana bread ever since I had the banana bread french toast at The National, back when they were still serving brunch. See post.

R.I.P 

Banana Bread French Toast

? – Spring 2011

I decided to make my own version of the bread and test out a banana bread recipe I found on the back of my whole-wheat pancake mix.

Well, that was my first mistake. Actually, my first two mistakes.

Whole-Wheat and  Pancake Mix.

I must have made this bread on one of my health-kick weeks, which typically only last for 48 hours. Or I just ran out of flour.

It was probably both, since most of the flour ends up on my shirt anyway.

However, the recipe on the back looked delicious. Who wouldn’t want to eat whole-wheat banana bread made with whole grains?

Silence.

I must be the only one.

I also replaced the oil with applesauce. Which I would do again since it replaces most of the fat and gives dishes added flavor to boot.

However the real problem of the bread wasn’t the whole-wheat, but the lack of sugar the recipe called for. Now granted, if the recipe uses whole-wheat anything, you can expect for every other ‘goodness’ ingredient to be drastically cut.

But c’mon Aunt Jemima!  You only give me a 1/2 cup?  What am I supposed to do with that?!

I’m the girl who puts 10 Splendas in her iced tea!

Which probably explains why my taste receptors are all messed up.

Go figure.

Whole Wheat Blend Banana Nut Bread

Yields 16 (skinny) slices

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup Aunt Jemima Whole Wheat Blend Pancake & Waffle Mix

1/4 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/2 cup sugar (I’d use 1 cup of brown sugar)

1/3 cup vegetable oil (Or substitute the same measurement of applesauce)

2 eggs

1/4 cup milk

1 cup mashed ripe (read: brown) bananas

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease the bottom of a loaf pan. Combine flour, pancake mix, walnuts, baking powder, baking soda and sugar in a large bowl.

In a small bowl, whisk together oil (applesauce), eggs and milk. Stir in bananas; add to dry ingredients. Stir gently just until dry ingredients are moistened. Pour into loaf pan.

Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool completely before slicing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

