Roomie Lasagna Night

After completing my cookie swap, I wanted another way for my roommates and I to get together one last time before the semester ended.  With one of us graduating in December, it was important for all four of us to actually sit down with one another and have conversation.

Food was always part of the plan.

My mother makes an AMAZING lasagna, and while I’m always quick to make fun of her lackluster culinary skills (I am my mother’s daughter), this is one dish that she makes extremely well.

Therefore, for our roommate “Italian Feast” night, I thought I’d use her recipe. Originally I was going to use a Giada DeLaurentiis’s  recipe for lasagna,  but  once I was at the grocery store and started to tally up how much the ingredients were,the costs outweighed the benefits (take that freshman-year macroeconomics)!

Below is the recipe for my mom’s lasagna. While she may have forced fed me fish sticks and canned green beans in my youth, she knows how to make a great lasagna.

Thanks Ma.

Before

After

Slap Your Mama Lasagna

1/2 pound of ground Italian sausage

1/2 pound of lean ground beef

2 pound (yes, 2 pound) jar of marinara sauce ( I like Prego)

2 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese

1 cup of grated Parmesan cheese

15 ounces of ricotta cheese

1 egg

1/2 package of lasagna noodles out of  12 ounces (Choose the “Oven-Baked” variety)

1 tsp. Italian seasoning (or just oregano)

1 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

In a large skillet on medium heat, combine the ground beef and sausage  and cook until all pink subsides. Once meat is done, pour a generous amount of sauce into the skillet and combine. This is to your discretion on how much sauce you want in your lasagna. I like it “saucy.”

In a small bowl, combine the ricotta cheese, 1/2 cup of the Parmesan cheese, one egg, and the garlic powder, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper together. Mix and set aside.

 In a 9 x 13 inch baking dish, pour a thin layer of marinara sauce on the bottom of the dish to prevent the noodles from sticking. Place five or so uncooked noodles on top of the marinara sauce. Cover the lasagna layer with all of the ricotta mixture, spreading  to evenly coat all of the noodles.

After the ricotta mixture is spread on, pour half of the meat sauce mixture on top. Cover this with 1 cup of mozzarella cheese. Place 5 more lasagna noodles on top of the mozzarella cheese. Cover the noodles with the remaining meat sauce, and then top with the remaining mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses.

Cover the lasagna with foil and bake for 1 hour at 325 degrees.

Serves about 6 people.

2 thoughts on “Roomie Lasagna Night

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

