Spiced Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Icing

Oh fall, I love you  and I also kind of dislike you as well.

I love that you allow me to wear my new boots and the pretty colors you bring when I look outside my window.

I hate that I always wake up at 6 a.m. in a panic, thinking that I missed my first class because the sun is bright and raring to go.

We can work out our differences though, because you also bring me pumpkins!

Pumpkin pie, pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin cake, muffins, cupcakes, the list goes on and  on.

To start off, I decided to make a pumpkin bar with a basic cream cheese frosting. The “bars” were essentially  a sheet cake, and were really easy to make. For someone who grew up baking cakes out of a mix (thanks Ma), I am going to pledge to make homemade cakes and frostings more often, because the quality and taste are so much better.

Needless to say, I made this on a Thursday and  it was gone by Saturday.

Just call me Cake Lady.

Spiced Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Icing

Adapted from Howto-simplify.com
Ingredients:

Bars

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 2/3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup canola oil (Or use the same amount of applesauce or vanilla low-fat yogurt)
  • 1 can (15 ounces) pumpkin
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon of nutmeg

Frosting

  • 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 3-4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×13 baking dish.
  2. Mix the eggs, sugar, oil and pumpkin with a mixer until light and fluffy.
  3. Pour flour, powder, cinnamon, salt and baking soda into another bowl and mix.
  4. Pour flour mixture into pumpkin mixture and mix until incorporated and smooth.
  5. Pour the batter into the baking dish and level out the batter.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  7. Remove from the oven and allow to cool before removing from the dish or frosting.
  8. Frost the bars when they have cooled — To make the frosting: Combine cream cheese and butter in a bowl and mix until smooth. Add the sugar slowly until you reach the desired consistency. Stir in the vanilla.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

