Broccoli and Cheese Frittata

After my blueberry muffin debacle  a couple of weeks ago, I decided to make a dish that would redeem myself in the kitchen.

I introduce to you the frittata.

What’s that you may ask? In simplest terms, it is an omelette that is open-faced. A frittata starts out as an omelette, but instead of it being flipped at the end, the frittata is put in the oven and “baked” and  cut into wedges.

In other words, it’s an omelette with a fancier name. Ooo la la.

I’m on health kick these days (blame being surrounded by size 0 girls at school) and found this recipe by Ellie Krieger, nutritionist and host of the Food Network show Healthy Appetite.  What makes this frittata healthful is the  combination of both whole eggs and egg whites and veggies.  The recipe only called for broccoli and onion but I decided to add a couple of slices of Roma tomatoes I had left over from the salad I had made earlier in the week.

I’ve turned into a salad girl. Lord help me.

But wait,did I really make this dish without a hitch?

Um, no. Hello, have we met?

After I poured the eggs and veggies into the skillet and let it cook for about 8 minutes for the eggs to set around the edges(but still jiggly in the center),I was instructed to then put it under the broiler for 1-2 minutes so that the center could set and the cheese would melt.

Okay…so far so good.

But as soon as I took the frittata out from the broiler and cut into it, it started oozing egg.

This time I had actually followed the recipe’s directions and had remembered all of the ingredients. A first.  Obviously, the cooking gods were against me. Luckily, I came to my senses and put the frittata back in the oven for 5 minutes under 350 degree heat.

Whew, crisis averted.

And after five minutes I had a delicious and healthful frittata.

All that stress for nothin’.

Broccoli and Cheese Frittata

Adapted by Elie Krieger, Foodnetwork.com

Serves 4

Ingredients

8 large eggs

2 tsp. olive oil

1 small red onion, sliced (about one cup)

2 cups chopped cooked broccoli

1/4 tsp. salt and pepper ( I used shakes of  seasoning salt, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and a pinch of red pepper flakes)

1/2 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese

Separate 4 of the eggs, putting the whites into a medium-sized bowl and discarding the yolks. Add the 4 whole eggs and 2 tablespoons of water to the whites and whisk well.

In a medium ovenproof nonstick skillet heat the oil over a medium flame. Add the onion and cook until it begins to soften, about 5 minutes. Add the broccoli and cook for another 2 minutes. Season with salt and a few turns of pepper. Pour the egg mixture over the vegetables in the skillet covering them evenly. Reduce the heat to medium-low, cover, and let cook until the egg mixture has set around the edges but is somewhat liquid in the middle, about 8 minutes. Sprinkle with the cheese.

Meanwhile, preheat the broiler. Place the skillet under the broiler about 2 inches from the heat until the surface is set and golden brown, 1 to 2 minutes. Be careful not to overcook or the egg mixture will become tough.

Cut the frittata into 8 wedges and serve.

 *Tailor this recipe to your own liking, and include the veggies/cheese’s/meat/spices that you like!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

