I’m thinking of renaming this blog (again) to The Misadventures of a 20-something Cook, because after baking these blueberry muffins I realized I am far more equipped to writing restaurant reviews than actually cooking. I think I got a little too cocky with my enchiladas. But to be fair, baking has never been my strong suit. Baking is exactly like science; ingredients must be precise.

And I don’t do science.

I found this recipe in my friend’s Southern Living cookbook the other day.The recipe looked easy and I had most of the ingredients already in my pantry. Winning. Or so I thought. My muffin  issue first came about as I mixed the batter. It was insanely thick – think bread dough instead of muffin batter. This piqued my curiosity, but I continued to stir and added more milk thinking this was the cookbook’s error. Obviously, I’m delusional.  As I added the blueberries to the batter and scooped it into the muffin tin. It all of a sudden hit me.

I FORGOT THE DARN OIL!

Of course the batter was too thick! I had forgotten to put in the 1/4 cup of vegetable oil the recipe had called for. I contemplated scooping the batter out of the tin and back into a bowl to mix the oil in, but what was done was done. The next 20 minutes was spent in agony pacing back and forth in the kitchen praying my muffins would come out right. Actually, it was really spent watching an episode of Jersey Shore and cursing myself out for attempting to bake.

After 20 minutes the muffins were done and they looked normal. After a five second cool down I ate a piece. And you know what? It wasn’t bad. The muffins were a little more dense and little less sweet than what I’m accustomed to but they were more than edible.

So maybe I didn’t perfect the world’s best blueberry muffin, but I think I did a pretty good job in perfecting an awesome low-fat blueberry muffin.

The Barefoot Contessa would be so proud.

Actual Recipe (adapted from Southern Living- Comfort Foods)

Blueberry Sweet Muffins

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/3 cup milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil (If you want these muffins to be low-fat, substitute the oil with 1/4 cup of applesauce. Trust.)

1 large egg (I used 1/3 cup of liquid egg whites)

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

2 Tablespoon sugar

(I’d add a 1 tsp of vanilla and the juice of one lemon to accentuate the flavor of the berries. Accentuate….I love how I sound like I know what I’m talking about).

Preheat the oven to 400. Combine the first 4 ingredients in a large bowl; make a well in center of mixture. Stir together milk, oil, and egg; add to dry ingredients, stirring just until moistened. Fold in the blueberries. Spoon into a greased or paper-lined muffin pans, filling two-thirds full. Sprinkle batter with 2 tablespoons of sugar. Bake at 400 for 20-25 minutes or until muffins are golden. Remove from pans immediately. Yield: 6 muffins

__ATA.cmd.push(function() { __ATA.initSlot('atatags-26942', { collapseEmpty: 'before', sectionId: '26942', width: 300, height: 250 }); });
__ATA.cmd.push(function() { __ATA.initSlot('atatags-114160', { collapseEmpty: 'before', sectionId: '114160', width: 300, height: 250 }); });
(function(){var c=function(){var a=document.getElementById("crt-938754733");window.Criteo?(a.parentNode.style.setProperty("display","inline-block","important"),a.style.setProperty("display","block","important"),window.Criteo.DisplayAcceptableAdIfAdblocked({zoneid:388248,containerid:"crt-938754733",collapseContainerIfNotAdblocked:!0,callifnotadblocked:function(){a.style.setProperty("display","none","important");a.style.setProperty("visbility","hidden","important")}})):(a.style.setProperty("display","none","important"),a.style.setProperty("visibility","hidden","important"))};if(window.Criteo)c();else{if(!__ATA.criteo.script){var b=document.createElement("script");b.src="//static.criteo.net/js/ld/publishertag.js";b.onload=function(){for(var a=0;a<__ATA.criteo.cmd.length;a++){var b=__ATA.criteo.cmd[a];"function"===typeof b&&b()}};(document.head||document.getElementsByTagName("head")[0]).appendChild(b);__ATA.criteo.script=b}__ATA.criteo.cmd.push(c)}})();
(function(){var c=function(){var a=document.getElementById("crt-945696783");window.Criteo?(a.parentNode.style.setProperty("display","inline-block","important"),a.style.setProperty("display","block","important"),window.Criteo.DisplayAcceptableAdIfAdblocked({zoneid:837497,containerid:"crt-945696783",collapseContainerIfNotAdblocked:!0,callifnotadblocked:function(){a.style.setProperty("display","none","important");a.style.setProperty("visbility","hidden","important")}})):(a.style.setProperty("display","none","important"),a.style.setProperty("visibility","hidden","important"))};if(window.Criteo)c();else{if(!__ATA.criteo.script){var b=document.createElement("script");b.src="//static.criteo.net/js/ld/publishertag.js";b.onload=function(){for(var a=0;a<__ATA.criteo.cmd.length;a++){var b=__ATA.criteo.cmd[a];"function"===typeof b&&b()}};(document.head||document.getElementsByTagName("head")[0]).appendChild(b);__ATA.criteo.script=b}__ATA.criteo.cmd.push(c)}})();

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

