Taylor Can Cook: Black Bean and Roasted Corn Enchiladas..Ole!

I always crave rich food in the dog days of summer. I’m talking lasagna,manicotti, enchiladas and casseroles. If a dish has an abundance of meat, cheese and some sort of sauce, I’m all in no matter what month of the year. Salads? I don’t do salads as main dishes.

However to break me out of this trend, I decided to make one of my favorite  winter dishes (enchiladas!) and lighten it up a bit with the addition of black beans instead of meat. I’ve read that eating a non-meat meal once a week is not only healthy but also  environmentally friendly. I’m already knockin’ two birds with one stone and its only Wednesday.  My week is complete.

My inspiration for the dish came from me simply not wanting to cook chicken or beef that would usually be rolled up in the enchiladas. Black beans are a great substitute for animal protein. For one, they’re filling and meaty and two, they’re dirt CHEAP. To spice things up a bit  I decided to make a “salsa” out of the black beans and added onion, green pepper, roasted corn (fresh from the cob AND only .28) and a little bit of lime juice. I roasted the corn still on its cob in a grill pan for about 15 minutes or until it gets lightly charred. Place a tablespoon amount of the mixture in a corn tortilla drenched in enchilada sauce and roll up with a little bit of cheese (I used a nacho and taco blend bought from Kroger). Place enchiladas in a baking dish lightly covered with sauce and once all of the enchiladas are placed, drizzle the rest of the sauce over the stuffed tortillas and top with more cheese. Bake for about 30 minutes at 350 with the dish covered with foil and another 10 minutes with the foil taken off.

To accompany the enchiladas I also grilled zucchini and summer squash.

Was this exactly a light meal? No. Was it tasty, cheap, and easy to prepare? Oh yes.

Ingredients:

14-ounce can of enchilada sauce (red or green) – I used El Paso brand

Shredded cheese (try a “Mexican” blend or a taco and nacho blend)

Corn tortillas

14-ounce can of black beans (drained and rinsed before mixed with other veggies)

Half of a green bell pepper chopped

Half of a medium-sized onion chopped

Juice of half a lime

Salt, pepper and garlic powder to be sprinkled in the salsa. Amounts depend on your taste buds.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

