Eating Out in Miami

Puerto Sagua

Big Pink

 

This post was a long time coming, and finally on a late Tuesday night, I decided to write it. Call it inspiration.

I went to Miami this past spring break with a couple of friends for some rest and relaxation before finals. The beaches were amazing, the men were especially good-looking and the weather was fantastic. But that’s not what you came to read, no?

Let’s briefly talk about Miami cuisine. Miami is an international city with influences from Latin America, Africa, Europe and Asia, and its food reflects that. However, more of a Latin American influence, especially Cuban, is going to be seen more frequently. On my Miami bucket list, I wanted to try an authentic Cuban sandwich made with Cuban bread (like French bread, but sweeter) ham, roast pork, swiss cheese, pickles and mustard. It’s delish, and while in South Beach I got my Cuban at  a restaurnat called Puerto Sagua. The menu was extensive with traditional Cuban foods such as ropa vieja and arroz con pollo, however I was dying for the sandwich. And for around $6.50,  it did not disappoint.

The other restaurant I went to was a funky diner also on South Beach  called Big Pink.  In diner fashion, the menu was gigantic (literally) and was the height of a small child. Of course you  had your standard burgers, sandwiches, lunch specials and breakfast options. I got the Club Sandwich, while my friends ordered the Philly Cheesesteak and the Grilled Portablello Wrap with basmati rice. All of our sandwiches came with a bucket (yes, I said bucket!) of homeade french fries. Delish. The servings were gigantic in portions and could very much be shared. But what foodie wants to share food? Not I sir. Both the food and people watching were great.  Only in South Beach can you dine without a shirt on, and that goes for both males AND females.

Only in SoBe.

Puerto Sagua

700 Collins Ave.

Miami Beach, FL 33139

Big Pink

157 Collins Ave.

Miami Beach, FL 33139

My Cuban sandwich sizzlin'

Big Pink delivery

Portabello Wrap

Philly

Club

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

