The Grit (Brunch)

I like meat. Let me just start off my saying that. Whew, glad to get that off my chest. For those who don’t know, The Grit is a vegetarian restaurant, however its menu  caters to both vegetarians and meat-eaters alike.

I had seen the Grit’s dinner and lunch menus and thought it was intriguing.  They have a dish called the “golden bowl” on t which consists of browned tofu and nutritional yeast served over brown rice. Now, normally that would make my stomach rumble, and not in a good way. BUT, I’ve heard its fantastic! When in Rome… or Athens.

However, I went to the Grit with a group of friends during my favorite meal of the day…BRUNCH. The inside was kitschy and was full of local Athenians, aka. hipsters. I ordered one of their daily specials, the cherry-vanilla pancakes. The pancakes came out really brown, and at first I thought they were overdone but it was just the color from the dark  cherries and vanilla. Served with REAL maple syrup, I could actually taste the vanilla flavor.

A friend had the french toast made from their homemade whole wheat bread. It was DELICIOUS! I enjoyed the french toast more than my pancakes, and that is a first for me, since I l-o-v-e pancakes. 

After, we all decided to split the Chocolate Vegan Death Cake, a speciality at the restaurant. Honestly, I don’t know how to begin making a cake vegan, but they pull it off. The cake is rich, chocolatey, and dense, almost like a truffle. I cannot wait to taste some of their other cakes and desserts the next time I go back.

I am dying for that french toast.

www.thegrit.com

Cherry-Vanilla Pancakes

French Toast! Chocolate Vegan Death Cake

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

