Spinach and Ricotta Lasagna Roll-ups

I’ve “unofficially” become a vegetarian.

And I don’t like it.

Honestly though, I’m too lazy to defrost a chicken breast.

Actually, I just forget.

I’ll just blame it on my Comm Law class.

Yeah, that’s it.

I love lasagna, see “Roomie Night Lasagna” and this time, I just didn’t feel like spending $4.00 on ground beef ( I know, terrible) and defrosting it the night before. Therefore, I decided to make a quicker lasagna using only spinach, ricotta cheese, marinara sauce and mozzarella cheese.

I didn’t even miss the meat. Spinach has iron right?

PETA you love me.

Spinach and Ricotta Lasagna Roll-ups

8 pre-cooked lasagna noodles

A container of ricotta cheese (get the smaller tub)

2 1/2 cups of an Italian Cheese blend (mozzarella and parmesan)

1 jar of marinara sauce or a tomato sauce of your choice

One 14 ounce bag of frozen spinach

Garlic powder, salt, and pepper

Mix all of the ricotta cheese and 1 cup of the Italian cheese blend in a small bowl. Season liberally with salt, pepper and garlic powder to suit your taste.

Boil or microwave the spinach according to package directions. After cooking, drain the spinach, making sure all liquid is taken out. Sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper.

Pour  1 cup of marinara sauce in a baking dish so the noodles won’t stick. Taking one noodle, spread about 2 tablespoons of the ricotta mixture on it, covering all of the noodle. Next, place about the same amount of spinach on top of the ricotta cheese. Gently roll the noodle and place into the baking dish. After all noodles have been filled and rolled, pour the remaining marinara sauce on top of the noodles, and top with 1 cup of the cheese blend.

Bake uncovered for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Spinach and Ricotta Lasagna Roll-ups

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

